If you’re moving to Florida, there are some things you should understand about car insurance quotes Florida, as it operates differently than most other states. Florida has two important laws governing car insurance. The first is the “no fault” law, meaning that Florida is a no fault state where accidents are concerned. The second is the Financial Responsibility law, which applies only to some drivers.
The No Fault Law
In a no fault state, each party’s insurance makes payment for their property damage and injuries, regardless of who is actually at fault in the accident. Florida car insurance does require that all drivers carry Property Damage Liability with a minimum $10,000 Limit and Personal Injury Protection, also known as PIP with a minimum $10,000 limit. This coverage is to cover your own damage and injuries in an accident.
In addition to the insurance required by Florida law, you may also want to purchase higher limits on your property damage liability and your Personal Injury Protection insurance, since the minimums are fairly low. It’s important to have enough coverage to adequately repair or replace your vehicle in the event of an accident and to pay your medical bills. You can find out what the difference in cost is by getting a car insurance quotes Florida.
The Financial Responsibility Laws
In addition, some drivers fall under the Financial Responsibility Law, which requires purchase of additional insurance. Not only are you required to carry insurance to cover your own vehicle and injuries, but you must also carry insurance to cover damage and injuries to the other party. You fall under the jurisdiction of the;visit this article here!
Financial Responsibility law if you’ve had any of the following violations:
• An accident that caused injuries, in which you were at fault
• Driver license suspension for too many points
• DUI citation followed by revocation of your license
• License revocation for habitual traffic offenders
Those who fall under the Financial Responsibility law are required to carry insurance with the following limits to protect the other party in the event of an accident:
* $10,000 Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) for one person
* $20,000 BIL to two or more people
* $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL)
It’s important to carry all the minimum insurance required by the state. If you’re required to carry the Financial Responsibility minimum insurance and fail to do so, you face revocation of your license and tags/registration for up to three years.Read the news and information coming from http://www.destinyconnect.com/2016/10/13/tips-bringing-car-insurance-premiums/
It’s just as important to carry your no fault minimum insurance, too. Those who fail to carry this insurance are subject to the same possible suspension period. In addition, you will be subject to a fine. Fines can be as high as $500 for subsequent offenses. Getting a car insurance quotes Florida and reviewing the coverage’s and limits will give you a better understanding of what you should have on your policy.…